Music | Why I Include Music Here

Some of you may be wondering why I’m including music posts at my jewelry and art blog. Well, I’ll tell you ;). I include music here at my jewelry and art blog because I consider the playing of music to be an art. Music has long been an inspiring factor in the creation of my jewelry and other art. Most of the time that inspiration was in the form of listening to music. Nowadays, I get added inspiration from playing instruments myself.

When I started getting really deaf, to where I had to wear hearing aids, I realized that something could happen to make me go totally deaf and if that was a risk for me, then there were things I wanted to do with my ears while I could still benefit from hearing aids. One of those things was music.

In 2010, I bought a few instruments to learn to play: a mandolin, a mountain dulcimer, a ukulele, and a recorder. I moved in June of 2011 and the house I live in has a spinet piano. It never got played and it was dusty and covered with stuff – completely unloved. It occurred to me that there are people out there who would love to learn to play the piano, but they don’t have access to one. Right here in this house was the loneliest piano. I’d never had any piano playing aspirations because I don’t have long fingers and I’d always heard that’s what you needed to play piano. Despite this, I decided to learn to play the piano because a piano is too beautiful and majestic an instrument to sit dusty and wasted.

When I went back to college, I enrolled in a Beginning Piano class. Reading music notation has changed my life and the way I see things. This caused me to have a new appreciation for the guitar, which I thought was so boring in my youth. Boring-schmoring. This in turn caused my current guitar obsession.

I’m learning to play all my instruments and can play a song on everything, but mandolin. My primary focus over the next few months, however, is just piano and guitar. I think the guitar playing will inform my ukulele and mandolin playing, so I think it’s wise to learn it first.

Music, like jewelry and art, is another of my artistic passions, so I think it’s totally appropriate to talk about it here.

Leave a Reply

